The Chasseur Chapter

National Society United States Daughters of 1812

Frederick, Maryland

Chapter President

Welcome to The Chasseur Chapter
Maryland State Society
National Society United States Daughters of 1812

The National Society United States Daughters of 1812 was organized on January 8, 1892, on the anniversary of the Battle of New Orleans. The primary purposes of the Society are to promote patriotism, to preserve and increase knowledge of the history of the American people, by preserving documents and relics, marking historic spots, recording family histories and traditions, celebrating patriotic anniversaries, teaching and emphasizing the heroic deeds of the civil, military and naval life of those who molded this government between the close of the American Revolution and the close of the War of 1812, from 1784 to 1815, inclusive, and to maintain, at National Headquarters in Washington, D.C., a museum and library of memorabilia of the 1784-1815 period.

Chapter History

The Chasseur Chapter was organized with twelve members on February 23, 2014 in Frederick, Maryland.  The Organizing President was Violet Eaton Kraft.  Mrs. Kraft proudly accepted the Chapter Charter from the President National on August 10, 2014, in Frederick, Maryland.

The Chasseur is named in honor of the Baltimore clipper ship, Chasseur that was built in 1812 in Fells Point, Maryland by Thomas Kemp.  The Chasseur was instrumental in capturing many British ships during the War of 1812.  In fact, in 1814, Captain Thomas Boyle declared that the British Isles were under a naval blockade by the Chasseur alone.  The Chasseur was later nicknamed the Pride of Baltimore by the newspaper, the Niles Register.

War of 1812 Patriots whose descendants have joined as members of
The Chasseur Chapter Maryland State Society United States Daughters of 1812

Jordan Alexander, AL
Thomas Cobb, ME
Daniel Duvall, MD
William Gregory Cook, Jr., MD
Isaac Fowler, MD
William Holter, MD
Michael Hyder, Sr., TN

Austin Lacy, LA
Zalmon Ludington, NY
John McMaster, VT
Richard Owings, MD
Moses L. Pendell, NY
Johnson Phares, VA
Philip Schnerr, PA

Jacob Sheetenhelm (Shittenhelm), MD
Abial Shoals, CT
William Humphrey Smoot, KY
Philip Teter, VA
William Trimble, KY
William West, RI
Ezra Wood, MA