Jonathan Jennings Chapter

National Society United States Daughters of 1812

Clarksville, Indiana

Chapter President

Jonathan Jennings Chapter meets
four times a year in February,
May, August and November.

Welcome to the Jonathan Jennings Chapter
Indiana State Society
National Society United States Daughters of 1812


Jonathan Jennings Chapter United States Daughters of 1812 was founded 2 May 1988, by Organizing President Mrs. Albert H. (Edna Scott “Scotty”) McKehnie in Clarksville, Clark County, Indiana.  The Chapter was named for the first governor of Indiana, Jonathan Jennings.

Governor Jonathan Jennings served the State of Indiana from 1816 to 1822 and was instrumental in Indiana’s admission to the Union.  In 1811, Jonathan petitioned the United States Government for Indiana statehood, but the War of 1812 delayed action on the petition by Congress.  After the war efforts continued for Indiana statehood, in 1816 Jonathan petitioned Congress for an enabling act to become a state.  In the summer of 1816, the delegates met at Corydon, Indiana and wrote the State Constitution.  It was at this time that Jonathan was elected the First Governor of the State of Indiana.

Chapter Projects

  • Recycling Project – Our chapter began an aluminum can recycling program. This not only helps the environment, but earns extra money for the chapter for our “special” projects. Fifty percent of the money earned is sent to National for the maintenance of the Indiana Flagpole in front of National Headquarters.
  • Grave Location Project – Our chapter is currently working to locate and document grave sites of soldiers of the War of 1812 in the Southern Indiana area.
  • The George Rogers Clark cabin – Our chapter is involved in the Clark Cabin project. This project works toward preserving the original site of the George Rogers Clark cabin in Clarksville, Clark County, Indiana. Recently a replica cabin was erected on the original site. Jonathan Jennings Chapter maintains a War of 1812 story board within the cabin along with chapter members donating items for the furnishing of the cabin.  The following are pictures of the cabin.

Our 1812 Ancestors

John Allen
John Baptist Alvey
Thompson Arnold
Michael Awalt, Jr.
Lt. Enoch Blasdel
Nehemiah Bonham
Samuel Bottoroff
George Bowman
Alexander Bryant
Jacob Bowe
Jacob Brown
William Buford, Jr.
Theodore Catlin (Catland)
David Colby
William Connell
John Overton Cosby
James G. Cowan
John Derrickson
John F. Dietz
Capt. Williamson Dunn
Thomas Evans
John Funk, Sr.
Moses Funkhouse
Johnson McDowell Gilison
Tilly Hamilton
James Harbeson
Isaac Hartsock
Henry Loughmiller
David Mann
John Maurice
Alexander Bain McRae
George McKinney
Daniel Musselman
Thomas L. Palmer
Benjamin Pate
Dennis Pennington
Randolph Perry
William Prewitt
Basil Prather
Asa Robinson
William W. Routh
William Seele
Benjamin F. Sickles
Silas Townsend
Peter Trone
Nicholas Wathen
Henry Willis
Samuel Young